Skip To Main Content

About Us

Southwood Roadrunners

Home of the Roadrunners, Southwood was opened in September of 1954 with 18 classrooms and recently celebrated its 60th Anniversary. The school was originally situated on 26 acres of land, some of which was sold to the city for the Raytown Parks Department to develop Minor Smith Memorial Park. Southwood was the only Raytown elementary school to have a female principal, Louise Twiehaus, when it opened. Southwood was one of 11 schools opened in a 17 year period, where a bond election, which met with great voter support, was held every year.


Check out our PeachJar! Southwood Elementary uses PeachJar as a way to distribute flyers to our families.

The Raytown C-2 School District uses Peachjar, a free online service for schools, to post approved efliers so that they are accessible to parents, staff and students as wanted/needed. Click here to learn more about Peachjar.

Claire Quinn

Dominique Roberson
Administrator Intern

Michelle Bragg

Ally Baker
Building Clerk

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday
9:05 a.m. - 4:10 p.m.

Wednesday Early Release
9:05 a.m. - 2:40 p.m.

Half Day Schedule
9:05 a.m. -12:25 p.m.

*Lunch is served